Portal de Molina de Segura

Molina de Segura - SpanishMolina de Segura - English
detail of Molina de Segura


The XIV Setenil Award 2017 for the Best Story Book published in Spain will be delivered on Monday, December 11 at the Molina de Segura City Council (07/12/2017)

The prize, worth 10,000 euros, has fallen to Our Story, by Pedro Ugarte, published by Páginas de Espuma

The award ceremony of the XIV Setenil Award 2017 for the Best Story Book published in Spain, promoted by the Department of Culture of the Molina de Segura Town Council, will take place on Monday, December 11, at 8:00 p.m., in the Plenary Hall of the City Council, with the assistance of the Mayor of the town, Esther Clavero Mira, the winner of the XIV Setenil Prize, Pedro Ugarte, the Councilor for Culture, Pedro Jesús Martínez Baños, and the President of the Jury, Pilar Adón.

The jury of the XIV Setenil Prize, composed by Pilar Adón, Carmen Valcárcel, Aurora Gil Bohórquez and Manuel Moyano, agreed to award the award to Pedro Ugarte for his book Our History, published by Páginas de Espuma, in the most popular edition of its history, with 117 titles presented.

Promoted by the Department of Culture of the City of Molina de Segura, and known as "the Oscar of the story", the endowment of the Setenil Prize is 10,000 euros.

Prior to the award ceremony, attention will be paid to the media at 12.15 at the Salvador García Aguilar Library (at Avenida del Chorrico, n ° 44).

At 12.45, in the auditorium of the Salvador García Aguilar Library, winner's meeting with students of the IES Francisco de Goya and Vega del Táder.

In the afternoon, at 19:30, at Paseo Rosales, we will proceed to the discovery of a commemorative plaque of the winner of the Setenil Prize, which will be attended by the Mayor and the winning writer.

The plaque will be placed on a bench in the promenade area and contains a commemorative text of the award and an extract of the winning work, as well as a drawing made by the artist from Molinense Juan Espallardo.

Pedro Ugarte (Bilbao, 1963) studied Law and Economics, but has always worked as a journalist, currently at the University of the Basque Country.

Along with other genres, he has devoted much of his literary work to the brief narrative, with books such as The Traffickers of Words, Manual for foreigners, The Island of Komodo, The Expedition or Private Wars, which was the NH Award for story books.

Finalist of the Herralde prize, has won among others the Euskadi de Literatura, Lengua de Trapo and Julio Camba awards.

The book that has obtained the XIV Setenil Prize, Our history, is developed in the landscape of the current society, hit by an economic crisis whose effects extend to all the orders of the life, but the value of its narrations transcends any geographic limitation or temporary.

The characters appear portrayed in their virtues and defects, in their daily eagerness and their obsessions, achieving the author a perfect balance between humor and melancholy.

The winners of the previous editions of the Setenil were Alberto Méndez, Juan Pedro Aparicio, Cristina Fernández Cubas, Sergi Pàmies, Óscar Esquivias, Fernando Clemot, Francisco López Serrano, David Roas, Clara Obligado, Ignacio Ferrando, Javier Sáez de Ibarra, Emilio Gavilanes and Diego Sánchez Aguilar.

Source: Ayuntamiento de Molina de Segura

UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2018 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información